Asia Community

 View Only

2021 Freeman Book Awards winners selected!

  • 1.  2021 Freeman Book Awards winners selected!

    Posted 03-30-2022 12:47:00 PM
      |   view attached
    Announcing the Freeman Book Awards for 2021!  The awards are presented annually by the National Consortium for Teaching about Asia, the Committee on Teaching about Asia of the Association for Asian Studies, and Asia for Educators at Columbia University to recognize quality books for young adults and children that contribute meaningfully to an understanding of East and Southeast Asia.  Winners for 2021 are: Tsunami Girl by Julian Sedgwick (high school); and The Waiting by Keum Suk Gendry-Kim, translated by Janet Hong (graphic); Finding Junie Kim, by Ellen Oh (middle school) and The Floating Field by Scott Riley (children's).  For more information, including Honorable Mention and Of Note titles, visit the Freeman Book Award website at

    Nancy Hope
    Freeman Book Awards
    North Kingstown RI